List Of Bee Species On The UK BAP Priority List

Here is a list of the UK BAP priority UK bee species (BAP – Biodiversity Action Plan) - giving scientific and common names of each species.  

UK Bee Species BAP List

This list is correct and up to date at the time of writing (June 2018):

Bumble Bee Species (Bombus

There are 7 Bombus on the BAP list:

Bombus distinguendus - Great Yellow Bumblebee

Bombus humilis - Brown-banded Carder Bee

Bombus muscorum - Moss Carder Bee

Bombus ruderarius - Red-shanked Carder Bee

Bombus ruderatus - Large Garden Bumblebee (also known as Ruderal Bumblebee)

Bombus subterraneus - Short-haired Bumblebee

Bombus sylvarum - Shrill Carder Bee

UK BAP List - Solitary Bees

There are 13 solitary bee species on the UK BAP list, of different genera:

Andrena ferox - Oak Mining Bee

Andrena tarsata - Tormentil Mining Bee

Anthophora retusa - Potter Flower Bee


Colletes floralis - The Northern Colletes Bee

Colletes halophilus - Sea-aster Colletes bee

Eucera longicornis - Long-horned bee

Lasioglossum angusticeps - Cliff Furrow Bee

Nomada armata - Armed Nomad Bee

Nomada errans - Purbeck Nomad Bee

Osmia inernis - Mountain Mason bee

Osmia parietina - Wall Mason Bee

Osmia uncinata - Pinewood Mason Bee

Osmia xanthomelana - Large Mason Bee (also known as Cliff Mason Bee)

Further information about other pollinators and invertebrates can be found on the UK government's priority terrestrial invertebrate species list.

Further conservation issues